Cover of: Plutarch's Lives | Plutarch

There's no description for this book yet. Can you add one?

Table of Contents

I. Theseus and Romulus. Lycurgus and Numa. Solon and Publicola.
II. Themistocles and Camillus. Aristides and Cato major. Cimon and Lucullus.
III. Pericles and Fabius Maximus. Nicias and Crossus.
IV. Alcibiades and Coriolanus. Lysander and Sull.
V. Agesilaus and Pompey. Pelopidas and Marcellus.
VI. Dion and Brutus. Timoleon and Aemilius Paulus.
VII. Demosthenes and Cicero. Alexander and Caesar.
VIII. Sertorius and Eumenes. Phocion and Cato the Younger.
IX. Demetrius and Antony. Pyrrhus and Caius Marius.
X. Agis and Cleomenes, and Tiberius and Caius Gracchus, Philopoemen and Titus Flaminius.
XI. Aratus and Artaxerxes. Galba and Otho.

Edition Notes

Imprint varies.
Greek and English opposite pages.
"In eleven volumes"; title-pages of vol. I-IV with title "Plutarch's lives ... in ten volumes" have been cancelled. (Vols. I-IV without cancels in L.C. set)

The Loeb classical library [Greek authors]
Early works to 1800.


Library of Congress
PA3612 .P7 1914

The Physical Object

11 v.
Number of pages

ID Numbers

Open Library
Internet Archive
LC Control Number
Library Thing

Download ebook for print-disabled Download Protected DAISY

Download Options

Prefer the physical book? Check nearby libraries with:

Buy this book

Add an ISBN in order to link to booksellers


Download catalog record: RDF / JSON / OPDS
May 15, 2019 Edited by Clean Up Bot import existing book
March 11, 2011 Edited by ImportBot Found a matching record from Internet Archive .
February 23, 2011 Edited by ImportBot Added new cover
February 23, 2011 Edited by ImportBot Found a matching record from Internet Archive .
April 1, 2008 Created by an anonymous user Initial record created, from Scriblio MARC record.